Knowledgebase: General Licensing > Activation
Will my customers have to reactivate when upgrading my application to a new version?
Posted by Zach C, Last modified by Stephanie L on 15 November 2016 04:42 PM

This is a configurable option. Re-activation is not necessary for upgraded or replaced software unless you so desire. If you use the same primary license file and license file aliases and do not change the locations or password, an already activated application will remain activated, similar to how an already expired trial would remain expired.  If using SOLO Server and you want your customers to activate the new or upgraded software, we also recommend creating a separate Product and Product Option to completely separate the newly licensed application from the previous one.

Instant Protection PLUS 3

Your customers won't have to re-activate as long as you use the same Instant Protection PLUS project file (*.ipp) and don't change the license file location and password on the License File Options step. If you do want to require your customers to reactivate a new version, it is probably easiest to create a new project file (*.ipp).   If you already copied a previous .IPP file and want the new version to require re-activation, you can:

  1. Open an existing IPP file
  2. Click Next until you get to License File Options
  3. Click Create New License Locations button near the bottom
  4. Be sure to use File / Save to save a new copy of your IPP file with a new name (always keep a copy of your old IPP file just in case you need it)
  5. Re-protect the application and test

Alternatively, creating a new IPP file automatically starts with new license file locations just as if you clicked the Create New License Locations button. Be sure to to save the IPP file with a new name and keep descriptive back-ups of all IPP files.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  There is a feature in the Instant Protection PLUS wizard that will reset the license ON YOUR DEVELOPMENT COMPUTER every time you go through the wizard and protect an application.  The reason for this is simple... We assume that every time you go through the wizard and protect an application that you want to start over in your testing - therefore, this is why the wizard will reset your computer's license.

If you were to repeat your test on a DIFFERENT computer or in a different virtual machine, you should see the desired behavior.

  1. Use Computer A to protect the application.
  2. Use Computer B to test the protected application.
  3. Activate the software on Computer B.
  4. Build a new version on Computer A and re-protect with Instant Protection PLUS using the same IPP file.
  5. Copy the protected application to Computer B and it should simply run.

Protection PLUS SDK

In order to force activation for paid upgrades, change the License File name/location, alias locations, password, and Trigger Code seed (if you are using Protection PLUS 4 SDK or allowing Trigger Code Activations with Protection PLUS 5 SDK) when releasing the new version of your application. Alternatively, you can store a version number in one of the user-defined fields to identify which version was activated so you can force a user who downloads a newer version to re-activate if the new version is a certain level higher than what was previously activated. With Protection PLUS 5 SDK, you can also set a parameter with the version number using the CustomData Field.

For Protection PLUS 4 SDK, refer to the article: How do I update License Files on customer machines when using License File Aliases and/or EZTrial?

For more information you can also read our newest blog post: Allow users to freely access minor upgrades while ensuring you get $PAID$ for major upgrades