What happens if an active network user crashes or loses power? Is that license lost?
Posted by Zach C, Last modified by Tanner O on 04 June 2018 10:49 AM

When one or more workstations do not properly log off the application correctly, the network file that the workstation has locked exclusively will eventually be released. When this file is unlocked, another user may run the application. When this file is unlocked is server-dependent. Some server will automatically close the file after a specific amount of time, while others may require the user to log off and log back into the network for it to realize that the file is no longer being used. The benefit of this system is that the user can generally resolve the lost license problem on their own, without having to contact you.

For more information, read the Protection PLUS 5 SDK manual topic on network floating licensing with semaphore files.


Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).