Is it possible to move/migrate from SOLO Server Shared URL to Dedicated URL or Self-Hosted?

We do not offer an upgrade or migration option from SOLO Server Shared URL to Dedicated URL or Self-Hosted. While it technically would be possible to migrate, there are multiple challenges and we do not recommend it. 

When using SOLO Server Shared URL, all interaction with the server is performed through the URL  secure.softwarekey.com (or a custom sub-domain). This means you or your team will log in to this URL and your software applications will use this server name. When you log in, you only see your own products, customers, licenses, and orders - although the data is maintained within a centralized database that is “shared” among all our participating SOLO Server Shared URL customers. There is not a way to easily migrate just your data from that database.

If, at a later date, you want to move to either the SOLO Server Dedicated URL option or the SOLO Server Self-Hosted option, all interaction will occur within the confines of your domain name (such as license.[yourbrand].com). You would need to release a new version of your software to connect to the new URL. Also, when your team is required to manage a license for an existing customer, they will need to know what version they are using, as well as knowing if they need to log into secure.softwarekey.com or the SOLO Server instance under your domain name. You would need a transition period where your SOLO Server Shared URL account remained active until you could switch all customers to the version of your application(s) that communicate with the new server. This could be confusing and cumbersome for your customers and employees, especially for those who may not be particularly web-savvy.

If, at the end of your analysis, you are ultimately debating between SOLO Server Shared URL and Dedicated URL (or Self-Hosted), and will need any of the advanced features and customizability only available with Dedicated URL or Self-Hosted, then it is strongly recommended that you start with the SOLO Server Dedicated URL option. Everything is kept in a separate database and URL, which can be subsequently re-pointed to your own IT infrastructure at any time, with the transition occurring seamlessly to your customers and employees.

In summary, it is easy to migrate between SOLO Server Dedicated URL and SOLO Server Self-Hosted, but it is not easy to migrate from SOLO Server Shared URL

See our SOLO Server Automation Packages for more details and comparison information about SOLO Server.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us